[Back to Overwiew]  [IACM Homepage]

IACM-Bulletin of 01 October 2017

IACM: Manuel Guzman elected as the new chairman

During its General Meeting on 30 September 2017 during the Cannabinoid Conference 2017 in Cologne, Germany, the IACM elected a new board of directors and five patient representatives. The following board members were elected: Mark Ware from Canada, Kirsten Müller-Vahl from Germany, Daniela Parolaro from Italy, Roger Pertwee from the UK, William Notcutt from the UK, Donald Abrams from the USA, Ilya Reznik from Israel, Franjo Grotenhermen from Germany, and Raquel Peyraube from Uruguay. Manuel Guzman was elected as the first chairman and Kirsten Müller-Vahl as the second chairwoman.

Prior to that the General Meeting changed the IACM statutes to allow for the election of up to twelve board members.

The following patient representatives were elected: Michael Krawitz from the USA, Alison Myrden from Canada, Sarah Martin from the UK, Sébastien Beguerie from France and Max Plenert from Germany.

During the General Meeting it was decided, that national organizations, that work for the medical use of cannabis and cannabinoids may become members of the IACM and that under certain circumstances also single members of these organizations may become members of the IACM, without paying an additional membership fee. The exact modalities will be developed by the IACM Board of Directors and published in the Bulletin.

On 29 September there was a meeting on the IACM ambassador program and scientific networking. The board of directors would like to thank all participants for their input. We will publish more information later.

Board of Directors of the IACM

IACM: IACM-Awards 2017 go to Kirsten Müller-Vahl, Daniele Piomelli, Sachin Patel, Matthew Hill, Stephen B. Corn und Meredith Fisher-Corn

During the Gala Dinner at the Cannabinoid Conference 2017 the IACM honoured six persons for special achievements regarding the re-introduction of cannabis and cannabinoids as medicine. The IACM Award 2017 for Clinical Research went to Kirsten Müller-Vahl, the IACM Ester Fride Award for Basic Research 2017 went to Daniele Piomelli, the IACM Award 2017 for Young Researchers went to Sachin Patel and Matthew Hill, and the IACM Special Award 2017 went to Stephen B. Corn and Meredith Fisher-Corn.

Dr Kirsten Müller-Vahl is a Professor of Psychiatry and Neurology at the Medical School of Hannover, Germany, and is doing clinical research on cannabinoids in Tourette syndrome. Dr Daniele Piomelli is a professor at the University of California in Irvine, USA. He is Professor of Anatomy and Neurobiology, Pharmacology and Biological Chemistry. Dr Sacin Patel is Professor for Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at the Vanderbilt Kennedy Center in Nashville, USA. Dr Matthew Hill is Professor at the Hotchkiss brain Institute in Calgary, Canada. Dr Stephen B. Corn is Professor at Harvard Medical School in Boston, USA. Dr Meredith Fisher-Corn is specialized in anaesthesiology and pain medicine. Together they have developed projects on the training of physicians in the medical use of cannabis.

The IACM would like to thank the platin sponsors of the conference Bedrocan and ABcann as well as the gold sponsors Storz & Bickel, Spektrum Cannabis and Phytoplant Research for their financial support of the IACM award program.

A glimpse @ the past

One year ago

Two years ago

[Back to Overwiew]  [IACM Homepage]


Online Events 2020

Please find all information of IACM Online Events including free videos of the webinars here.

Virtual Conference 2021

The 12th IACM Conference on Cannabinoids in Medicine will be held online from 14 to 16 October 2021. Registration is for free.

Members only

Regular members can sign up for the new member area of the IACM to access exclusive content.

You need to become a regular member of the IACM to access the new member area.

IACM on Twitter

Follow us on twitter @IACM_Bulletin where you can send us inquiries and receive updates on research studies and news articles.